kalishLOGO-2016 #1.jpg

Some of the nation's top prize-winning and widely recognized picture editors and skilled administrators make up the Kalish faculty. They volunteer their time and expertise and sometimes even use vacation days to participate because they are committed to great visual storytelling and sharing their knowledge to others working in the field. Their dedication and passion for the profession are key to the success of The Kalish.

Current Faculty

Usually, eight faculty members are scheduled for each session and offer
informational presentations, as well as small group and personalized
feedback. Most remain present for the entire session so there is ample
interaction with all the attendees, making the workshop unique and
rewarding in a casual environment. The 2019 faculty included Mallory Benedict, Chloe Coleman, Danny GawlowskiRandall Greenwell, Kenny Irby, Danese Kenon, Elizabeth Krist, Brent Lewis, Jenn Poggi, Martin Smith-RoddenWilliam Snyder and Brian Storm. Faculty for the 2022 workshop will be announced, along with additional program details, later this year.

Additional leaders in visual storytelling join us each year and some support the workshop over the course of the workshop week. Willie J. Allen, Jr. and Chris Zuppa document the workshop experience. Frank Folwell serves as treasurer and liaison to the NPPF.

A sub-group of faculty members administrate The Kalish. They provide direction, oversight and labor to assure the success of the workshop from year to year. They are: Chloe ColemanDanny GawlowskiRandall Greenwell, Danese KenonKevin Martin, Sue Morrow, Jenn Poggi and Brian Storm. 


See a list of past directors and faculty.